The Great Cookbook Project

If you’re a foodie who loves to cook, like me, then there’s a pretty decent chance that you have a cookbook collection.  But are your books collecting dust while you surf the popular food sites like Epicurious and Allrecipes?

I was beginning to fear the dust bunnies behind the books.  And, in my ongoing quest to simplify life, I need to justify my possession of these cookbooks.  Absolutely, I love to search for new recipes online.  And sure, I have several large binders filled with categorized recipes from various sources (neatly protected with plastic sheet covers – you can say “nerd”, I will understand).  But there’s something so wonderfully tangible about holding a cookbook in my hands.  The memories contained within – where/why/how did I acquire this book anyway? – add a special, almost ethereal, dimension to food preparation.

Also, due to a variety of circumstances, I find myself on a food budget for the first time in several years.  I’m looking for recipes that merge financial savvy with creativity, simple ingredients with delicious flavors, and new techniques with efficient prep and cooking times.  That’s a tall order, but I believe my cookbooks can deliver.

And so, The Great Cookbook Project is born.  I’ll make one recipe from each of my cookbooks, in the order they appear on my shelves.  When I’m finished, I’ll start back at the beginning.

My cookbook collection is comprised of an almost laughable variety of titles. Indeed, I’ve been chuckling to myself regularly as I’ve sifted through them preparing to launch this project. I own Mastering the Art of French Cooking….as well as Cooking with All Things Trader Joes. Larousse Gastronomique…along with Best Recipes from Boxes, Cans and Jars. Chez Panisse…and Weight Watchers Make It In Minutes.

This could be a wild ride.

P.S.  Please click on About The Project for more Great Cookbook Project details.

~ by clevelandkat on November 8, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
