Conquering the Pomegranate

There’s a pomegranate sitting on my kitchen counter.  Taunting me.  I bought it on a whim at Trader Joe’s this week, with the intention of adding the seeds to a mixed greens salad.  But, you see, it KNOWS that I have never extracted the seeds from a pomegranate before  It is snickering at the thought of me WEARING that vibrant, jewel-colored juice, and fleeing the kitchen with a string of expletives.

But tonight, it’s going to happen (the extracting, that is, but hopefully not the expletives).  I’ve armed myself with information – did you know there’s even a Pomegranate Council Web site, with a “no-mess” solution for how to prepare one.  And since Chris is making our main dish of Grilled Cheese Sandwiches (per our conversation yesterday about FEWER STRESSFUL MEALS), the only thing I have to do is assemble the salad.

I was able to convince Chris that it was okay to have this salad tonight because this is a “made-up” recipe.  So it’s not technically part of the “great cookbook project”.  However, he seems to be eyeing the pomegranate with some degree of suspicion, and will probably make sure he is nowhere near the kitchen when this adventure is taking place.

(Fifteen minutes later…)  I did it!  I really did it!  You’ve got to click on the Pomegranate Council link and try this yourself while pomegranates are still in season.  It only took about 10 minutes, and I had about a cup of gorgeous pomegranate seeds in a bowl in my fridge, waiting to be turned into salad, as follows:

Pomegranate and Goat Cheese Salad: (these measurements are approximate and can/should be adjusted to your own personal taste)

Extract the seeds from 1 pomegranate and set aside.  Combine about 4 cups mixed salad greens (or lettuce of your choice), 1/2 cup thinly sliced sweet onion, 1 cup grape tomatoes, 1/2 cup dried cranberries and 1/4 cup soft goat cheese, crumbled or broken into pieces.  Toss lightly to mix.  Serve with balsamic or raspberry vinaigrette, or, as my mom suggested last night, a nice celery seed dressing.

Chris’s grilled cheese sandwiches were fabulous, by the way.  He added some mustard and a little creamy horseradish sauce, so they had this great unexpected tang.  Sometimes, and I don’t know why, things just taste better when we don’t have to make them ourselves.

Until next time,

Clevelandkat

~ by clevelandkat on November 18, 2010.

11 Responses to “Conquering the Pomegranate”

  1. So you actually eat the seeds?? Wes and I ventured into pomegranate land a while back and just ate the fleshy part around the seed – spitting the seed out, like a true Southerner. (Got the image?) We decided that pomegranates, while very yummy, just simply weren’t worth the work…

    • Wendy, I wondered the same thing. According to the Pomegranate Council, you eat the yummy red part, but then it’s up to you whether you eat the little seed in the middle or spit it out. Apparently the kernel inside has most of the fiber, so it’s actually healthier to eat it, but it’s definitely a personal preference!

  2. First of all I chuckled out loud at Chris eyeing up the pomegranate with suspicion.
    I used to sit and eat pomegranates when I was younger, I would don an old t-shirt, grab a dish towel that was one step away from the rag box and I would painstakingly peel and eat the thing. It would take me about an hour and a half and I would be covered in red juice at the end. Clearly I must try this new way of attacking the pomegranate! I haven’t eaten one in years because of the mess and work. But to have the ability to add some to a salad? Decadent. I might try this one too.
    I also think that simplifying things was a good call. I was getting stressed every evening just thinking about you over there slaving away at one new recipe after another. I made steak and gravy last night and it nearly killed me!

    • I have such a tendency to overdo when it comes to things I really love…but eventually, it can make me love them less. So I agree, simplifying is good, if I want to keep this project up long term. Tonight will be another easy one – basically involving assembly from Trader Joe’s again. However, stay tuned for a post on Saturday which will describe my Friday project from Mastering the Art of French Cooking (gulp!).

  3. By the way… those Dillon boys can sure make a sandwich!

  4. LOVE this…i am a trainwreck when it comes to pomegranates but i oh so love them! now i shall improve! 🙂

  5. Santa puts a pomegranate in the kids’ stocking every Christmas, so we get to enjoy them at least once a year. I think he got tired of investing in big beautiful oranges that were really just pithy dried up baseballs pretending to be oranges!

  6. You’re braver than me. I have always wanted to try a pomegranate but 1) they are hard to find in New Zealand (always a good excuse) and 2) my husband says he doesn’t like them. But a pomegranate was staring at me in my local supermarket the other day, daring me to buy it but I walked past it. And yes, I felt really guilty. Maybe next time.

Leave a Reply

 
