Adventures in Tofurky

Ever hear of Tofurky?  Developed by Turtle Island Foods, a family owned, independent company since 1980, the Tofurky Roast provides vegetarians and vegans with their very own main dish option at the holiday table.

Somehow I just don’t see it happening for me.  I would definitely eat Tofurky Roast with Stuffing if someone else served it – and I would probably enjoy it.  But for my own holiday table, I’d just as soon get a free-range, organic bird and call it a day.  I guess I’m a little bit traditional.

And yet…when I stumbled across Tofurky Sweet Italian Sausage with Tomato and Basil at my friendly neighborhood Trader Joe’s, the package seemed to take on a life of its own.  I watched helplessly as it took a nosedive into my basket, looked up at me and said, “You’re going to try Tofurky, and you’re going to like it!”

I am not vegetarian.  I just happen to like vegetarian food.  I’m not looking for substitutes – just something that tastes good in its own right.  I am very much in favor of options, particularly when it comes to food.

So when I eat a veggie burger, I’m not comparing it to a hamburger.  When I cook up a soy dog, I don’t expect it to taste like a hot dog.

Looks like sausage...

My original intention was to cook up the sausages in a pan and serve them on buns like I would any other veggie dog.  But then they started talking to me again.  The sausages, that is.  (Should I worry?!)

At one point, I actually mentioned to Chris that the food was telling me what it wanted to become.  He promptly left the kitchen and I didn’t see him again until dinner was ready.  Wise man.

I decided to slice up the sausages and cook them in a skillet with some onions and peppers.  I thought I could stuff the buns with this mixture.  However, my buns were too small (probably the first time in my life I’ve ever said that!) so I had to go to Plan B.

Plan A

I decided to dump this mixture into a small casserole dish, and top it with some oven-roasted tomatoes and freshly grated Parmesan.  (The fact that I will now show you a picture of my beautifully grated Parmesan rather than my final dish should tell you something.)

Between this Pampered Chef gizmo and my Microplane Grater, Parmesan is SO easy!

The impromptu casserole actually tasted pretty good.  I baked it at 400 for about 20 minutes.  I served it with the leftover pomegranate salad and some egg noodles topped with some fabulous pumpkin spice butter from Ohio City Pasta.  In retrospect, the sausage saute would have been delicious tossed with the egg noodles as well.

The bottom line…we really liked the Tofurky Italian Sausage, despite my rather strange menu planning.  It had a great flavor and a nice firm texture for a soy dog.  I will cook it in the future.  Turtle Island seems like a pretty cool company too.   

However, if the sausage starts advising me on cooking procedures again, I think I will ignore it.

Until next time,

Clevelandkat

~ by clevelandkat on December 2, 2010.

One Response to “Adventures in Tofurky”

  1. I have had sausages talk to me before….

Leave a Reply

 
